Album Title
Artist Icon The Illusion of Progress (2008)
heart off icon (0 users)
Last IconTransparent icon Next icon

Transparent Block
Cover NOT yet available in 4k icon
Join Patreon for 4K upload/download access

Your Rating (Click a star below)

Star off iconStar off iconStar off iconStar off iconStar off iconStar off iconStar off iconStar off iconStar off iconStar off icon


Data Complete
percentage bar 100%

Total Rating

Star Icon (2 users)

Back Cover
Album Back Cover

CD Art
CDart Artwork

3D Case
Album 3D Case

3D Thumb
Album 3D Thumb

3D Flat
Album 3D Flat

3D Face
Album 3D Face

3D Spine
Album Spine

First Released

Calendar Icon 2008


Genre Icon Alternative Rock


Mood Icon Bittersweet


Style Icon Rock/Pop


Theme Icon ---


Speed Icon Fast

Release Format

Release Format Icon Album

Record Label Release

Speed Icon Flip Records

World Sales Figure

Sales Icon 0 copies

Album Description
Available in:
The Illusion of Progress is the sixth studio album by American rock band Staind. It was released on August 19, 2008. The Illusion of Progress was produced by Johnny K and recorded in lead singer Aaron Lewis' home studio, featuring the band's original line-up, including Mike Mushok (guitar), Jon Wysocki (drums, percussion) and Johnny April (bass, vocals). It debuted at #3 in the Billboard 200 with 91,800 units sold.

The lead single was "Believe", topping the Alternative Songs chart on September 13, 2008. It accumulated three weeks at number one.

The second single was "All I Want", came out on November 24. The video continued the story of the first single video and was available on Staind's Myspace on December 12. In Europe the second single was "The Way I Am", and its video was available on the Official Staind Website as of December 24. "This Is It" has been released as the last single off the album. The album has sold over 400,000 units in the United States alone.
wiki icon

User Album Review
"The way I am/you'll never change," sings Aaron Lewis on Staind's sixth studio album. He's not kidding. For nearly a decade, Lewis and his bandmates have been immovable post-grunge loyalists, fiercely committed to the genre's basics: midtempo songs in minor keys, sullen vocals and lyrics that distill the message Life Sucks and Then You Die.
On The Illusion of Progress, they team up with producer Johnny K (Disturbed, Drowning Pool) to tweak the formula just a bit. The album opener, "This Is It," is pro-forma post-grunge, but beneath his mewl, Lewis sounds almost contented ("It feels like this is good enough for me," he sings). "The Corner" is a lush Pink Floyd-style space-rock epic with a full gospel choir. And on "All I Want," Staind prove that when they veer from their gray-on-gray melodic palette and dedication to gloomy tidings, they are skilled pop balladeers. Most of the time, though, the band sticks to its comfort zone, with songs that proceed through a sequence of genre clichés as Lewis howls out woe-is-me's and lists of grievances. "The shit I take," he sings, "you already know." All too well, dude.

External Album Reviews

User Comments
No comments yet...

Locked icon unlocked


External Links
MusicBrainz Large icontransparent block Amazon Large icontransparent block Metacritic Large Icon