Artist Name
web link web link
heart icon (1 users)
artist logo

Artist Image
artist thumb


Data Complete
percent bar 100%

Album Releases refreshview
album thumb
Megalomania (2011)
album thumb
Aquarius (2000)
album thumb
Aquarium (1997)

members icon 4 Mixed

flag Copenhagen, Denmark

genre icon Pop

style icon Rock/Pop



born icon 1996

calendar icon 1996 to Present...

artist cutout

Current Record Label

artist logo

heart icon Most Loved Tracks
4 users heart off Aqua - Barbie Girl
4 users heart off Aqua - Doctor Jones
4 users heart off Aqua - Lollipop (Candyman)
4 users heart off Aqua - Turn Back Time
3 users heart off Aqua - Lollipop (Candyman)

youtube icon Music Video Links
youtube thumb
We Belong to the Sea
youtube thumb
Lollipop (Candyman)
youtube thumb
Barbie Girl
youtube thumb
Doctor Jones
youtube thumb
Bumble Bees
youtube thumb
My Oh My
youtube thumb
Roses Are Red
youtube thumb
My Mamma Said
youtube thumb
Back to the 80's

Artist Biography
Available in: gb icon flag icon flag icon flag icon flag icon
Aqua is a Danish-Norwegian dance-pop group, best known for their 1997 breakthrough single "Barbie Girl." The group formed in 1989 and achieved huge success across the globe in the late 1990s and early 2000s. The group managed to top the UK Singles Chart with their first three singles. The group released two albums: Aquarium in 1997 and Aquarius in 2000, before splitting up in July 2001. The group sold an estimated 33 million albums and singles, making them the most successful Danish band ever.
In their prime, Aqua's singles managed to chart top ten in a number of countries where continental European pop acts would not normally succeed, including the United States, Australia, and Japan. The group also caused controversy with the double entendres in their "Barbie Girl" single, with the Barbie doll makers Mattel filing a lawsuit against the group. The lawsuit was finally dismissed by a judge in 2002, who ruled "The parties are advised to chill."
The band's members are vocalists Lene Nystrøm and René Dif, keyboardist Søren Rasted, and guitarist Claus Norreen. During their split, Nystrøm, Dif and Rasted all achieved solo chart success, and Norreen continued in the music industry remixing other artists' material.
At a press event on October 26, 2007, the group announced a reunion tour, as well as the release of a compilation album featuring new material. Their third album, Megalomania, was released on October 3, 2011.
wiki icon

Wide Thumb
wide thumb

artist clearart


fanart thumb

artist banner

User Comments

transparent iconNo comments yet..

unlocked icon Unlocked
Last Edit by ERIKBLADE
08th May 2022

social icon transparent iconsocial icon transparent icon


External Links icon musicbrainz icon icon website icon unlocked iconamazon icon