Album Title
Artist IconMogwai
Artist Icon The Hawk Is Howling
heart off icon (0 users)
Last IconTransparent icon Next icon

Transparent Block
Cover NOT yet available in
Join Patreon for 4K upload/download access

Your Rating (Click a star below)

Star off iconStar off iconStar off iconStar off iconStar off iconStar off iconStar off iconStar off iconStar off iconStar off icon


Data Complete
percentage bar 60%

Total Rating

Star Icon (3 users)

Back Cover
Transparent Block

CD Art
CDart Artwork

3D Case
Transparent Icon

3D Thumb
Transparent Icon

3D Flat
Transparent Icon

3D Face
Transparent Icon

Spine Cover
Transparent Icon

First Released

Calendar Icon 2008


Genre Icon Post-Rock


Mood Icon ---


Style Icon Rock/Pop


Theme Icon ---


Speed Icon ---

Release Format

Release Format Icon Album

Record Label Release

Speed Icon Rock Action Records

World Sales Figure

Sales Icon 0 copies

Album Description
Available in:
The Hawk Is Howling is the sixth studio album by Scottish post-rock band Mogwai, released on 22 September 2008 through Wall of Sound, Play It Again Sam, and Matador in the UK, Europe, and the USA, respectively. It was released in Australia through Spunk Records on 27 September 2008.
It is their first album to feature exclusively instrumental songs, since their earlier albums all have had vocals (singing or spoken word) on some tracks.
The album peaked at number 35 in the UK Album Charts and 97 on the Billboard 200.
The album was recorded and produced by Andy Miller at Chem19 Studios in Hamilton, South Lanarkshire, Scotland and mixed by Garth Jones at Castle of Doom Studios in Glasgow, Scotland between September 2007—March 2008. The album marks the first time in ten years that the band worked with Andy Miller, and at Chem19 Studios, since recording the song "Small Children in the Background" for the No Education = No Future (Fuck the Curfew) EP in May 1998.
Several new compositions were debuted at a show for the Triptych Festival at Tramway in Glasgow, Scotland in April 2008—"The Precipice", "I Love You, I'm Going to Blow Up Your School", "I'm Jim Morrison, I'm Dead", "Thank You Space Expert", "Batcat" and "Scotland's Shame".
wiki icon

Album Review
None Found... Click yellow EDIT Button add one
wiki icon

User Comments

No comments yet...

Locked icon unlocked


External Links
MusicBrainz Large icontransparent block Amazon Large icontransparent block Metacritic Large Icon